Thursday, May 10, 2007

Sophomore Player Of The Year

Last year with help from the folks at From College To Pros, I took a look at who should be the 2006 MLS Sophomore Player of the Year. It's a new season and time to start looking at which rookies from last year are stepping up and putting in the performances to get them talked about for 2007. Ones that I've been watching so far are : Chicago Fire Calan Carr Floyd Franks Brian Plotkin Dasan Robinson Chivas USA Jonathan Bornstein Sasha Kljestan Lawson Vaughn Colorado Rapids Colin Clarke Jacob Peterson Daniel Wasson Columbus Crew Jason Garey Andy Gruenebaum Will Hesmer Kei Kamara Brandon Moss DC United Mark Burch Jeff Carroll Stephen deRoux Rod Dyachenko Devon McTavish Justin Moose FC Dallas Kenny Cooper Dax McCarthy Dominic Oduro Houston Stuart Holden Patrick Ianni Kansas City Wizards Matt Groenwald Amir Lowery Yura Movsisyan Tyson Wahl Lance Watson Los Angeles Quavas Kirk Nathan Sturgis Kyle Veris New England Revolution none New York Red Bulls Jozy Altidore Blake Camp Elie Angku Jerrod Laventure Joe Vide Real Salt Lake Kyle Brown Willis Forko Attiba Harris Medhi Ballouchy Toronto FC Abbe Ibrahim Marvel Wynne If I've missed anyone, please let me know. Some like Kenny Cooper played professionally in England. Because of this I wouldn't have had him in the running for rookie of the year. The same applies for sophomore player of the year. My shortlist of players to keep an eye on are : Jozy Altidore (NYRB), Medhi Ballouchy (RSL), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Willis Forko (RSL), Andy Gruenebaum (Columbus), Sasha Kljestan (Chivas USA), Dax McCarthy (FCD), Justin Moose (DCU), Dominic Oduo (FCD), Jacob Peterson (Colorado), Dasan Robinson (Chicago), Nathan Sturgis (LAG), Marvel Wynne (Toronto FC)


Anonymous said...

Theoretically you still cannot add Cooper to this kind of a list. He has been playing professionally longer than any of these other players listed, it wouldn't make any sense.

Allen said...

I agree. Sorry for any confusion. I shouldn't have actually listed him with the team. I did mention that the same rules apply for Rookie of the Year so players like Cooper aren't actually in the running. I just did a bad job of making that clear. I'll get a revised list out and straighten that up. Thanks!

Anonymous said...

My vote goes for both Willis and Mehdi from RSL.